In memory of great names and unique achievements, the RETIRED NUMBERS are no longer awarded and immortalized as a sign of appreciation with a flag under the stadium roof. In order for a player number to no longer be assigned, 4 of the following five criteria must be met.

  • 10 years 1st team EVZ
  • Start of professional career at the EVZ
  • End of professional career at the EVZ
  • Swiss champion with the EVZ
  • 50 games with the A national team

The following player numbers are no longer assigned at the EVZ:

#20 Philipp Neuenschwander

Retired Number

15 Seasons at EVZ (1980/81-1985/86, 1988/89-1996/97)
EVZ Topscorer 1983

The dangerous wing-forward scored 222 goals for EVZ in 546 games. The former EVZ junior spent two years at HC Davos (1986-88) and got into the Swiss team for which he played 51 international games. Between  2001 and 2004 the long-time captain was sport manager for EVZ.

#21 Patrick Fischer

Retired Number

10 Seasons at  EVZ (1992-1997, 2003-2006 und 2007-2009)
2 x EVZ Topscorer

In 2013-2015, he started his second career as NLA head coach at HC Lugano and has held the position of national coach since 2016.

#33 André Künzi

Retired Number

7 Seasons at EVZ (1992-1999)
Swiss Champion with EVZ in 1998

The long-time national defender came from Bern to Zug in 1990 and was one of the leading figures in the EVZ defence for over a decade. After his first title with SC Bern in 1989, he won the championship for the second time with EVZ in 1998. In 2001 he had to resign from active sports because of chronic complaints.

#57 Fabian Schnyder


17 Seasons with EVZ (2003-2020) 
Swiss Champion with EVZ Elite Juniors 2003 and 2004
Vice-Swiss Champion with EVZ 2017 and 2019
Cup Champion with EVZ 2019

Fabian Schnyder joined the EVZ in 1996 from Küssnacht SC. As a junior player, he won two championship titles with the EVZ Elite Juniors (2003 and 2004), and in 2004 he took part in the World Championships in Finland with the Swiss U20 national team. In the 2003/04 season, he made the jump from the elite juniors to the Zug National League team, with which he celebrated the runner-up title in 2017 and 2019 and the Cup victory in 2019. In 17 seasons and 873 championship appearances, he scored 125 goals, 151 assists and 276 scorer points for his EVZ, which he remained loyal to until his retirement. With his exemplary attitude and his above-average running and fighting qualities, the power winger was one of the top performers until the end. Thanks to his open and modest manner, he was also a figurehead and likeable ambassador for the club off the ice.


Your web browser ist outdated.
The web browser you are using is no longer supported.
Please download one of these free and up to date browsers.
Chrome Mozilla Firefox Microsoft Edge
Chrome Firefox Edge
Google Chrome
Mozilla Firefox
MS Edge
Why should I use an up to date web browser?
Newer web browsers provide better protection against malware, data theft and other threats to your privacy and security. Up to date browsers continuously close security holes that allow attackers to enter your computer.
New Technologies
The technologies used on modern websites are better supported by newer web browsers. This both increases functionality and improves the website layout. By benefiting from new functions and extensions you will be able to surf the web faster and easier.