Skip To Main Content

These Zug players will be in the national team next week

Various EVZ players will be traveling with the national team next week.

While the Swiss men’s national team will be playing at the «Beijer Hockey Games» in Sweden from February 8-11, the women’s national team will be traveling to Liberec (CZE) from February 5-11 with seven Zug players.


Head coach Patrick Fischer has nominated 25 players, including five debutants, for the «Beijer Hockey Games» in Sweden. Switzerland will start the new calendar year with a breakout game against Finland on February 8, 2024, followed by games against Sweden and the Czech Republic on February 10 and 11.

In addition to numerous experienced players, Fischer has called up five players who are wearing the Swiss jersey for the first time: goalkeeper Stéphane Charlin, the two defenders Inaki Baragano and Benoit Jecker and the two forwards Tino Kessler and Théo Rochette. «Some of the experienced players have been absent in previous squads due to injury and are now fit to play again. The young players have forced their way into the squad due to strong performances at their clubs», says the 48-year-old head coach, explaining his nomination.

With Luca Cereda, at the Karjala Cup in November 2023, and Thierry Paterlini, at the Swiss Ice Hockey Games in December 2023, already supporting Fischer as assistant coaches, Michael Liniger, currently assistant coach at EV Zug, will join the coaching team this year. As usual, Tommy Albelin will also act as assistant coach. 


Switzerland will meet in Zurich on Monday, February 5, 2024, for the first game of the calendar year before flying to Oslo on the same day, traveling by bus to Karlskoga (SWE) and playing the breakout game against Finland there three days later at 18:00. Both the subsequent clash with hosts Sweden (February 10, 2024, 4:00 p.m.), who won last year’s Beijer Hockey Games, and the game against the Czech Republic (February 11, 2024, 12:00 p.m.) will then take place in the Löfbergs Arena in Karlstad. In the game against Sweden, the Zug team will face their teammate Lukas Bengtsson, while EVZ captain Jan Kovar will play for the Czechs.

Asked about the objectives for these three games, Patrick Fischer says: «We want to develop as a team and get off to a successful start in the new year. The young players should showcase themselves and gain important experience against strong opponents.»

All Swiss games will be shown live on SRF, RTS and RSI.


The roster in detail


Goalies (3): Stéphane Charlin (SCL Tigers), Connor Hughes (Lausanne HC), Joren Van Pottelberghe (EHC Biel-Bienne)


Defense (8): Iñaki Baragano (SCRJ Lakers), Michael Fora (HC Davos), Lukas Frick (Lausanne HC), Andrea Glauser (Lausanne HC), Benoît Jecker (Fribourg-Gottéron), Sven Jung (HC Davos), Samuel Kreis (SC Bern), Livio Stadler (EV Zug)


Offense (14): Thierry Bader (SC Bern), Attilio Biasca (EV Zug), Enzo Corvi (HC Davos), André Heim (HC Ambri-Piotta), Grégory Hofmann (EV Zug), Tino Kessler (EHC Biel-Bienne), Denis Malgin (ZSC Lions), Tyler Moy (SCRJ Lakers), Valentin Nussbaumer (HC Davos), Théo Rochette (Lausanne HC), Tristan Scherwey (SC Bern), Sven Senteler (EV Zug), Axel Simic (EHC Kloten), Yannick Zehnder (ZSC Lions)


Head coach Colin Muller has announced his squad for the 5 Nations Tournament in Liberec, Czech Republic. The 22-strong squad also includes three debutants.

From Monday, February 5, 2024, to Sunday, February 11, 2024, the Swiss women’s national team will compete in the 5-nation tournament in the Czech Republic, where it will face off against Sweden, Germany, Finland and the hosts. In addition to the experienced Lara Stalder (175 caps), Stefanie Wetli (107), Lara Christen (100) and Sinja Leemann (93), head coach Colin Muller has also called up three players who have not yet played for the senior national team. These include goalkeeper Talina Benderer from Club da field hockey Engiadina and HCD forward Leoni Balzer, who both last played at the U18 World Championship in Switzerland, as well as Cassandra Rensch, who is under contract as an offensive player with HC Fribourg Ladies. 

The 60-year-old is looking forward to the first national team meeting of the new calendar year and also announced his objectives: «We want to continue our development process at the 5-nation tournament, expand our playing system and achieve positive results with fight and passion. It will be a big challenge against good nations, but we are looking forward to it.»


The roster in detail


Goalies (2): Benderer Talina (Club da hockey Engiadina), Maurer Saskia (SC Bern Frauen)


Defense (7): Baechler Alessia (GCK/ZSC Lions), Büchi Annic (EV Zug), Christen Lara (SC Bern Frauen), Hauser Janine (HC Davos), Hofstetter Nadine (EV Zug), Rossel Alena Lynn (SC Bern Frauen), Wetli Stefanie (HC Davos)


Offense (13): Balzer Leoni (HC Davos), Herzig Naemi (EV Zug), Ingold Emma (SC Bern Frauen), Joray Cindy (SC Bern Frauen), Leemann Sinja (GCK/ZSC Lions), Lutz Lena-Marie (EV Zug), Marti Alina (GCK/ZSC Lions), Quennec Kaleigh (University of Montreal / CAN), Rensch Cassandra (HC Fribourg Ladies), Ryhner Noemi (EV Zug), Stalder Lara (EV Zug), Schaefer Vanessa (GCK/ZSC Lions), Wey Ivana Maria (EV Zug)

General sponsor
Zuger Kantonalbank
Main sponsors
Binelli Group