Skip To Main Content

EVZ youngsters in the U20 World Cup squad

The U20 national team will begin its World Cup preparation on July 13 at the OYM in Cham.

From August 9-20, 2022, the U20 World Championship will take place in Edmonton, Canada, which had to be cancelled in December 2021 due to the Covid pandemic. For the start of the World Cup preparation on July 13 at the top sports center OYM in Cham, Head Coach Marco Bayer and his coaching staff have called up five goalkeepers and 32 players born in 2002 and younger. Among them are also numerous players from the Zug junior school. Arno Nussbaumer (NL), Dario Allenspach (NL) and Tim Muggli (U20-Elit) will also play for the EVZ next season, Lucas Rötheli (Olten), Dario Sidler (Lausanne), Mats Alge (Lakers), Attilio Biasca (Halifax/QMJHL) and Joel Marchon (Sheerebrooke/QMJHL) have become champions with the EVZ U20-Elit and have since joined a new club.

The preparation starts with two three-day Summer Camps at the OYM in Cham. On July 22, the team will travel to Vierumäki, Finland, for a week to play two test games each against Finland and the Czech Republic. On August 1, the Swiss delegation will then fly to Edmonton for the final preparation phase at the World Championship venue. During these weeks of preparation, the squad will be reduced to 25 players. The line-up for the Summer Camps in Cham:

Goaltenders (5): Galley Loïc (Fribourg-Gottéron), Henauer Andri (Bern), Pasche Kevin (Omaha Lancers/USHL), Patenaude Noah (Saint John Sea Dogs/QMJHL), Rötheli Lucas (Olten).

Defensemen (13): Bichsel Lian (Leksands IF/SWE), Chanton Giancarlo (Geneva), Delémont Noah (Biel), Despont Vincent (Saint John Sea Dogs/QMJHL), Dionicio Rodwin (Niagara IceDogs/OHL), Füllemann Louis (Bern), Meier Noah (GCK/ZSC Lions), Meile Nick (Bern), Nussbaumer Arno (EVZ), Sidler Dario (Lausanne), Streule Maximilian (Winnipeg Ice/WHL), Terraneo Simone (Ambri-Piotta), Zanetti Brian (Peterborough Petes/OHL).

Forwards (19): Alge Mats (SCRJ Lakers), Allenspach Dario (EVZ), Baechler Nicolas (GCK/ZSC Lions), Bärtschi Jérémie (Biel), Biasca Attilio (Halifax Mooseheads/QMJHL), Canonica Lorenzo (Shawinigan Cataractes/QMHL), Derungs Keanu (Geneva), Fahrni Joshua (Bern), Garessus Lilian (Ajoie), Graf Marlon (GCK/ZSC Lions), Henry Joel (GCK/ZSC Lions), Knak Simon (Davos), Marchon Joel (Sherbrooke/QMJHL), Muggli Tim (EVZ), Nicolet Kevin (Timra IK/SWE), Reichle Liekit (GCK/ZSC Lions), Ritzmann Fabian (Bern), Taibel Jonas (Moncton Wildcats/QMJHL), Truog Livio (GCK/ZSC Lions).

General sponsor
Zuger Kantonalbank
Main sponsors
Binelli Group